

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847 Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427 llr.sc.gov/re

PROPERTY MANAGER-IN-CHARGE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

If you have not passed the SC Property Manager Exam, you must first apply for and pass the SC Property Manager licensure exam.

Before calling in to the Commission Office – You may check your application status online at: https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage.

Licensure Requirements:

A person is qualified to receive a Property Manager-In-Charge license when the following requirements are met:

- 1. Must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age or older.
- 2 You must meet the licensure requirements for Property Manager license. (See <u>Property Manager Licensure Requirements</u>)
- **3.** Completed seven (7) hours of Commission approved Property Manager-in-Charge accounting and record keeping courses.

Application Process:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period, you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

If you do not hold an active Property Manager license with South Carolina, or have not passed the SC Property Manager exam, you must first apply for a Property Manager license/pass the SC Property Manager exam. If you hold an active Property Manager license or have passed the SC Property Manager exam, the following will apply.

- 1. **Application** In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
 - **Application Fee**: \$250 application fee (via <u>Document Submission</u>). Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.
 - **Identification**: Copy of your valid driver's license, state-issued ID, passport or military ID.
 - Legal documentation of all name changes (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
 - **Personal History Questions:** For any "Yes' answers in the Personal History Information, a written explanation must be provided. For explanation of criminal history, completion and submission of the <u>Explanation Form</u> is required. Additional information may be requested by the Commission Office or an appearance before the Commission may be necessary.

- **PMIC Transfer**: If you take over as the PMIC for a currently registered company, attestation of transfer is required (Addendum attached to application). The attestation must be signed by the existing PMIC or owner of the company.
- **PMIC Course Completion**: SC Code §40-57-510(C)(2)(b), applicants for Property Manager-in-Charge must complete seven (7) hours of Commission approved Property Manager-in-Charge accounting and record keeping courses prior to issue of license.
- **Bank Information**: If the company you are becoming a Property Manager-in-Charge for is maintaining trust funds and authorized to do business in SC, the name and address of the bank in which an escrow account has been established must be reported to the Commission (Section V of the application). (SC Code Ann. §40-57-136(A)(3)).
- **2.** Licensure: Upon approval of application an updated license card will be mailed to the company mailing address.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847 Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427 llr.sc.gov/re

PROPERTY MANAGER-IN-CHARGE (PMIC) LICENSURE APPLICATION

If you do not hold an active Property Manager license with South Carolina, or have not passed the SC Property Manager exam, you must first apply for and pass the SC Property Manager licensure exam.

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period, you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, license verifications, etc.

Submit the following with your application via Document Submission:

- Application fee of \$250.
 - Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. NO CASH IS ACCEPTED.

I.	RECIPROCITY South Carolina only has reciprocity with the states of <u>Georgia</u> and <u>North Carolina</u> . Before answering the below questions, please review the reciprocity agreement links above to see if you qualify.							
	1. Are you	applying by Georgia reciprocity?		\square Y	es 🗆 No			
	2. Are you	applying by North Carolina recipr	rocity?	\square Y	es 🗆 No			
II.	APPLICANT INFORMATION							
	Name:	(as shown on your current license)	License no.:					
	Have you legally changed your name since your initial application or your last renewal? ☐ Yes ☐ No							
	If yes and you have not reported the change, please submit legal documentation supporting the change. (Marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)							
	Home Address:	Street (physical address required)		- Control				
			City	State	Zip			
	walling Address	S (If different than above):						
	Phone:	Email Ac	ldress:					

III. OFFICE INFORMATION Company Name: _____ Office Code: _____ Office Address: Street (physical address required) State Zip City Phone: County: Mailing Address (if different): *I attest that* (check one): I have ownership interest in the named company on this application. I am actively engaged in the operation and management of the named company on this application. IV. BANK INFORMATION If brokerage will not be holding trust funds, please enter "N/A." Bank Name: Street Address: V. PERSONAL HISTORY INFORMATION Please answer all questions. You must attach a written explanation for any "Yes" answers. For explanation of criminal history, completion and submission of the Explanation Form is required. 1. Have you ever had an application for a license/certificate to practice a profession or occupation refused or denied licensing board, commission or other entity? \square Yes \square No

contendere to a violation of any federal, state, or local law (you may exclude minor

traffic violations, juvenile, and/or expunged violations)?

2. Have you ever had any written complaint, formal accusation, final order, disciplinary action or consent order filed against you by any person, jurisdiction

3. Have you ever, during your entire life, been convicted of, pled guilty or nolo

VI. ATTESTATION AND SIGNATURE

or licensing board or commission?

- Unless marked "N/A" above, I hereby affirm that I have established a trust or escrow account in a bank authorized to do business in South Carolina and that I understand I am responsible for the maintenance of this account.
- I hereby authorize a representative of the Real Estate Commission to inspect all records that I may have pertaining to the brokerage business, including my trust or escrow account and bank records of such trust or escrow account.

 \square Yes \square No

 \square Yes \square No

- I certify that all statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I further understand that the information provided or in connection with this application may be investigated and verified, and false or incorrect information provided by me may result in the cancellation of any license issued pursuant to this application as well as the filing of appropriate civil and criminal proceedings.
- I hereby represent and warrant to the Commission that I will, at all times, comply with the South Carolina Real Estate License Law and Regulations. In particular, I have read and understand the duties and responsibilities of a Property Manager-in-Charge as outlined in S.C. Code §40-57-135.

Applicant Signature:	Date:	

PRIVACY DISCLOSURE:

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement, and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210
P.O. Box 11847 • Columbia • SC 29211-1847
Phone: 803-896-4400 • Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4427
llr.sc.gov/re

STEP-DOWN ADDENDUM

This is only applicable if the listed company currently has an existing, active BIC/PMIC who is stepping down from being the BIC/PMIC over the company/office.

Company Name:	Office Code:	
New BIC/PMIC Name:	License No.:	
	ation to be listed as the new BIC/PMIC of the company and licensee is stepping down from their role as BIC/PMIC	
Former BIC/PMIC Signature:	Date:	
Former BIC/PMIC Name (printed):		